My hair will be the death of me. I was born snow blonde and watched the color darken with every year of life. When I the dark mouse brown stage I said “No More!” and started coloring it. When I was young and cash seemed plentiful and fell from trees, I got it professionally done. My original colorist I was with for years. He started as a guy at a cheap salon and worked his way up in the ranks with Paul Mitchell. The funny thing was, by the time I moved away, he was an extremely sought-after stylist and commanded big bucks, but never charged me more than pretty much what I paid when I first met him. And, I could get an appointment with no hassle, even though others had to wait weeks or months. That’s the beauty of sticking with someone – they remember…

I never found that special person again. I basically visited various salons with hit or miss results. Here in town, though, I hooked up with a stylist and visited her for a good five years, but then my money ran out. A color and cut now set me back (with tip) upwards of $150 and…. no. So, it was time for box-of-blonde.

The early experiments were awful. My hair is dark, but I insist on being blonde. With true professional-quality materials and a sense of artistry to pair with technical skill, a quality stylist could give me the blonde I wanted. A box just doesn’t give the same result. I made my hair red, strange brassy gold and more other variations than I can count. Finally, I found one box that was acceptable. Still kept the roots a darker blonde, but got the rest of the hair nice and light for an overall good effect. I’ve used that box for quite awhile and only this weekend ran into the “sold out” situation. My hair was looking awful and I didn’t want to wait or drag my lazy ass to another store to shop.

Well, my hair now has true gold-bar gold roots and pure silver for the rest. If I had pointy ears, I’d be an elf. Luckily, I don’t have a reputation as a hot chick to uphold, so no one besides me really cares what my hair looks like. But, I have my eye on the weekend after next. My hair will be recovered from this chemical spill to withstand another. With my familiar, tried-and-true box-of-blonde. Now, I must go and pray that L’Oreal never discontinues that color…

