We braced and poised and readied for Irene and…nada. Now, it’s West Nile Virus. Chilling at the end of the school day yesterday (my prep period is the last of the day and on Friday it is a chillax block for me) when an announcement comes over the PA. It was the principal and he was a little out of sorts. Apparently a SWARM of mosquitoes in the town had tested positive for West Nile Virus and (1) all outdoor activities were cancelled (sports, recess) until further notice (2) all windows and doors had to remain shut and (3) students should hurry home and stay inside. Needless to say, this created a fine panic since a lot of the kids walk to school and now were petrified that they were facing death as they tried to get to their houses. The woman who provides daycare for my dogs has a son in 8th grade and he sometimes hitches a ride home from me when the weather sucks. Needless to say, he as waiting anxiously at my door when the bell rang, and my dogs weren’t even at his house. He was desperate for a ride home – really anxious about the possible threat. He got home safely and I think he was actually grateful for what he saw as cheating the Grim Reaper…

Enjoying the PlayOn private channel on my Roku box. I’ve been trying to find a good way to get YouTube videos on my Roku box and other private channels I’ve tried have sucked. This one seems to working and I’m currently enjoying a couple of videos I have earmarked as Favorites that the other channels wouldn’t display. Looks like this might be a good solution for me.

Dogs woke me up at 1:30 am, 5:00 am, 6:30 am… and I went to bed at midnight. I’m thinking a rum-fueled nap is in my future, which is a damn shame since the day is 100% sunny, cool and crisp. That’s ok… there will be other days like this…

