At first, it was just simple work. Grocery shopping, dish washing, laundry. Then, I decided to check out my condo for the height of the grass and found that, yes, it needed weed whacking, but also there was a thick cover of leaves all over the sidewalk and lawn. I’d forgotten about my unhealthy front-yard tree who sheds at the end of summer. And the For Sale sign that was supposed to have been taken down pre-Irene by the realtor hadn’t been and was lying half in the ground and half out. So, it is now all out and under my front porch. One large leaf bag filled with lawn debris, a chat with my old neighbors and I was back home to take care of my own back yard. Work hard and make a nice Labor Day lunch of veggie burger and fresh corn on the cob and… why the hell is it so warm in here?

Check the AC control and, although I have the AC set on 70 °, the house is at 75 °. So, it is then a matter of racing around trying to find out what’s wrong and… I can’t. Some vents are blowing a little cold air, others aren’t doing anything. The fan on the compressor is functioning, but the air being blown away is cool, not warm. Downstairs in the basement, some lines that usually drip with condensation are doing nothing and others are sodden. Oh, did I mention the ice that I think I would have noticed at some previous point in time. I am so screwed…

