“Retail shopping studies have found that most people turn right when they enter a store. That’s because the majority of the population is right-handed and right-oriented.”

I stole this quote off of some lame Comcast.net article and it intrigued me since I never turn right when I enter a store unless I know the item I want is located in that direction. I turn left at the grocery store, mall stores, standalone electronics stores… if I walk into a new place my automatic tendency is to hang a left and I’m very right handed. If I know a store, then the layout determines my direction. At one grocery store, I turn right because the entrance is located to the far right and it makes sense to start shopping there, rather than hike to the other end of the store to begin. At the closest BestBuy, I turn right because the computers, DVD’s and phone/mp3 stuff is there. Music and appliances are on the left. Even when I look into a store, I look towards the left – left display window, left-side advertisement signs… I’m not sure what that says about me, but if we accept that the left direction is associated with evil and misfortune then I’m not sure it says anything good…

