Today is the first day of a 4-day weekend and, despite it’s honorary status as a vacation day, I’ve been a real go-getter. Grocery shopping, bank visiting, grass mowing, weed whacking, dog walking… and I’m on an every half-hour schedule of putting a magical material on the rusty spots of my dishwasher racks. I’ve also had a nice conversation with a lady at the oil-delivery company to say they were so stupid they should be sterilized. Well, maybe I didn’t put it that way exactly, but I did call into question their estimate of how much oil I’ll use this year. I joined their balanced payment plan and got the first bill, which came in at $360. By their estimation, a single woman living in a 1100 ft2 house needs nearly $4000 in oil during the winter. ‘Scuse me, but that’s more than a tad ridiculous. They’re going to look into it. I’m going to look into other heating oil providers.

The first week of school is always hairy and this one has been no exception. The strange thing is that th ekids ar eon their bestest-best behavior… they’ll never be this good or motivated again. It’s all the other nonsense that sucks every second of my time and gives me angst. It will settle down, it always does, but you can never be sure when something nasty will jump out of the proverbial closet and bite you on the ankle. Only 177 more school days for me to find out…

