Tomorrow is Day 1 of the new school year. Today was Day 0, the day teachers report for a full day of useless, pointless meetings and not one second to prepare their classrooms or class materials. If you didn’t take you own time and come in over the summer to reorganize your class after the maintenance staff stripped it for cleaning and reposition things randomly when they were done or xerox the Day 1 materials that no one (students or parents) will look at, but go into a rage if they are not given, like a syllabus… too damn bad.

The complete lackluster of yesterday’s storm married well with the email I got from a parent to set up a meeting. On a Sunday. Before school starts. During a hurricane watch. This person is a whacko who has issues with one of my staff. All of this occurred last year, but I guess she feels she needs to get more off of her chest. The funny thing is that I have her kid in my Physics class this year. Mom just has no clue… I’ll meet her on Wednesday afternoon wearing black jeans, a black geek-themed shirt and a supremely bored expression that screams I’m already tired of her shit. I’m actually looking forward to it; I think it will be fun. Completely baffling arrogant helicopter parents is a personal skill that I adore exercising at every opportunity.

The only sour note for the start of the year is that my dogs will not get to enjoy their normal allotment of daycare. Finances being what they are, one day a week is going to have to suffice until I can find someone to rent my albatross-ish condo. Then they can more freely romp with their puppy pals. I’m sure I’ll be visited with some form of their revenge. Perhaps they’re already starting. Last night, I was woken by the unmistakable sound of someone getting ready to puke and the puke arrived quickly and copiously all over my bed. My black dog gets upset stomachs at times and at 2:15 am, I was having to strip and remake the bed, force a piece of a Pepcid tablet down this throat and try to get him and his sibling back to sleep. I tried, too, but failed. Between the white dog’s snoring and the black dog’s smacking his lips, sleep was not in the cards. First victory goes to the dogs…

Day 1 should be very uneventful. There’s not much to excite the passions about assigning textbooks and reading through the course syllabus. Day 2… well that’s another story…

