Now downgraded to a tropical storm, as expected, Irene hasn’t done more in my area yet than pop some wind and drop some intermittent rain. But, we’re not supposed to get the real shit until later today. First priority was to get the dogs out early for their only walk today and I gave them a stern lecture at the onset about the necessity for complete bowel evacuation. Despite a great hope that we’d make it through the walk dry, we were soaked by a surprise downpour and the dogs are now resting after their terrible wet ordeal. For some reason, complete drenching makes them very sleepy…

I’m now in hunker-in-the-bunker mode. There will be no exiting of the home on my part, though the dogs are more than welcome to scamper outside for tinkle breaks. It dark and dreary and I may even indulge in a nice nap, waiting for the weather to intensify. But, my preparations were completed yesterday and I am fully stocked with necessary supplies like microwave popcorn and liquor. Got the TV blaring and the videogames cued up on my laptop. I guess there are worse ways to spend the final day of summer vacation…

