I’m from Louisiana, which is primarily known for two things – mosquitoes and hurricanes – and I lived through more than my fair share of both before I moved to New England. Occasionally, we get skeeters up here and, very occasionally, we get big storms. Everyone knows about the nor’easters that blast through in winter, but we do get threatened by hurricanes on occasion. Such, as we are being threatened right now…

There’s a storm making noise about bothering the northeast and you would swear that it was sitting right on the coast right now just waiting for the green light to blow all of us to oblivion. I had work to do today and on the way home, stopped by the store. There’s not much else in my fridge now but ketchup and jalapeno slices and, without some rice or bread, there’s no meal there. Under slightly cloudy skies, I turned into the parking lot for the strip mall that houses not one, but two, grocery stores and barely found a spot to park my car. Apparently, every person in the city decided that the end was near and had to make sure they had enough batteries and beer. Picking up some basic groceries was like fighting for a new TV on Black Friday and I’m sure more than one person went home with bruises they’d be ashamed to explain to their families. Finally, I made it through the check-out line and loaded up the car for the final half-mile to the house. Well, ok… I did decide to pick up a fresh bottle of rum, just in case. Nothing goes better with the Apocalypse than a good rum and coke

