I think my black dog wants to be a vegetarian. I’ve been one for 43 of my 45 years, but he has decided at the ripe old age of 6 to become one himself. Does he now refuse his kibble? No. Gushie food? No. But he has developed an obsession for all things vegetable to the point that he will physically attack me in the kitchen to get his share. And he has a winning move, too. With his diminutive height, he is perfectly poised to hurl himself with his surprising force into the back of my knee so I collapse into a puddle on the floor. At the very least, I drop the green pepper, broccoli, cauliflower, carrot, water chestnut, bamboo shoot or whatever I have and he gobbles it up with obvious glee. And wants more. He’s a bottomless pit for veggies. And do not get me started on rice. That dog comes armed with a butcher knife when I have some brown rice on my plate. He’s also a yogurt eater. And popcorn. I really don’t need a snack pal in the house, but that’s my life isn’t it…

