I hate coming late to the party…

Normally, I ignore YouTube. I have only a few things I regularly use it for – my doggy daycare provider’s videos and videos for my classes. As a time-waster, it doesn’t rank highly on my scale. However, perusing the availability of MST3K videos, my attention was grabbed and I decided that I wanted to watch them on my TV, even with the low resolution/small image size. Success? No…foiled…

I have and dearly love a Roku box, which lets me stream my video services – Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon Video On Demand – and offers other little things that occasionally tempt my video eye such as classic video channels, science/technology offerings, etc. And, I remembered, YouTube.

I don’t know the source, but I remember clearly the instantly-recognizable YouTube logo in the channel listings as part of some advertisement. Well, I was right and I was wrong. YouTube never had an official channel for the Roku box. There was an unofficial workaround that involved telling Roku to subscribe you to a private channel and providing a suitable code. All was well in streaming land a very long time, apparently, until last April. At that time, Google got a wild hair across its ass and had Roku disable the workaround. And offered no official channel to add to the lineup. Now, it’s not like YouTube is keeping it’s videos closeted for the select elite few on the Internet. They are free and easily available to anyone with a computer or mobile device. They also offer an official channel to any number of WiFi-enabled tv’s, blu-ray players, media players, etc. But not little Roku. It gets the shaft, although the bigwigs huff and puff about continuing negotiations. Now, if I had added the little work-around private channel before the embargo, I would be fine, but I just had to be a day late and a dollar short.

Now, there are a couple of other ways to get YouTube on my Roku, but I’m not willing to do it right now. I am going to remain hopeful that an official channel will open up on my Roku service and I’ll be flying high. Elsewise, I’ll find a refurbed WiFi device that offers YouTube for cheap money and settle the matter that way. Nuttin’ is easy, is it?

