That feels like what my head is experiencing. There is a little man sitting on my head, using his hammer and chisel with disturbing glee. Didn’t help when I got the bill for my painters for $400 more than estimated due to extra materials and labor. And, every day I go out to inspect their work, I see other little things about the house that require someone’s for-pay attention. I can’t buy booze right now, let alone tackle another homeowner project. kapowkapowkapow…

I’ve been trying for two days to complete a story and damn me if I didn’t fall down a tangent well. I can’t feel too upset, as it does set the stage for what I was planning to put in book 3 of the series, but it’s not actually necessary right now. So, instead of just finishing up, saying a blessing and moving onto some unfinished piece, I’m still slogging. And with my friend the mason sitting on my skull, it is doubtful that much progress will be logged today. Maybe if I throw down some serious ibuprofen and high-test coffee (poor man’s Excedrin, although Excedrin uses aspirin), I could actually wind up doing something to make myself proud.

One bright note was that the printing app I have for my iPad got an update and now works perfectly with my cheap and aged WiFi printer, without having to go through the computer first, as it had to in the past. Actually makes it more useful for school-related tasks that I do at home. So, yeah me – I’ve enabled myself to do more work, but at least I can come home to do it and not linger around school without my necessary creature comforts.

I ascertained long ago that my dogs do enjoy a taste of rum, so I may add a little to something nice and sweet so that they nap for awhile. They’ve barked enough already and my head will take not one woof more. Perhaps my own nap would be a wise move at this point, as well…

