Wound up not following my delightful plan to lose myself in tasty beverages yesterday. Not that I didn’t have a couple, well two, but one was potent enough to require a good long time to drink, so I got to have that booze taste on my tongue for an acceptable period of time. Good ol’ absinthe…

Absinthe is no longer illegal in the US, but it costs like it’s still on the FBI watchlist. I do like a licorice flavor, so have always kept a bottle of Pernod on hand for the occasional sipper, but absinthe adds a much more complex herbal note that makes it a completely different beast. And a little is more than enough – the bottle I’m currently nursing is a rather tame 106-proof, many are much higher. It was one of those bottles that reminded me forcefully about the herbal nature of absinthe. When sipping a high-proof offering, I have an odd habit of taking some in my mouth and just letting it sit there awhile. Go about my business reading or working and the spirits just roll around on my tongue as if I could somehow magically extract all of the flavor molecules before swallowing. Now, I do properly louche my absinthe before drinking, but that does not reduce it’s potency significantly, and I wasn’t thinking along those lines anyway when I drank it as per my habit. And crippled my mouth for a week. The proportionally-large alcohol content combined with the essential oils from the herbal infusion made a soft-tissue toxic compound that numbed my tongue and gave my palate a nasty chemical burn. Just like getting nailed by nuclear-hot pizza, my palate blistered up and I spent a week using my tongue ridding myself of dead mouth-skin and trying to “there, there” my poor tender flesh. Lesson learned. Now, I make sure I add extra liquid to my absinthe cocktail and take sips the size a mouse would take, swallowing quickly. And my mouth has been safe ever since…

Have added a nice few pages to one of my stories over the past couple of days and, if I can shake my head into the right mindset, I could finish it up today. If…very large, very formidable if…

