The weather is ridiculously hot and humid, so it’s me and the dogs warming the couch with our asses from sun up to sun set. The second I stick my head outside, all I hear are rugrats screaming from the house a few doors down who have a pool. Why any parent would let their kids outside between 12:00 and 2:00 with that level of sun and heat, even with a pool, is beyond me. But, since my pet-name for that family can’t be articulated in polite society, I’m not surprised. There’s nothing on TV and nothing I want to read. I have been writing some and plan on continuing that, but I’m ready for booze. A lot of it. I can’t afford what I really want right now, but some plain ol’ Myer’s Platinum Rum can be configured into any concoction that takes my fancy sufficiently well that I’m not mourning my ravaged liquor cabinet too much. I’d really like to just push myself into a state of don’t-worry-be-happy and spend my time today just feeling happy. What a lovely little dream…

