This is actually yesterday’s entry that I forgot to post. What the heck…

Had another Open House for my condo yesterday. I’ve had a lot of these lately without much attendance. It’s the same story with every property in the area, but it is still disheartening. Yesterday, the realtor emails me that a man toured the place and was very interested. Yeah! Now, he wants to bring his wife back for a look. That’s when I deflated like a balloon. There will be no offer from that couple, I guarantee. Twice before this has happened – the man sees the place and likes it. Brings back the female and she says absolutely not to the whole thing and I lose the sale.

My tastes and behaviors are not feminine. I never deny that and don’t try to hide it. The clothes in my closet could easily be worn by a man my size and my house is continually littered with electronic gadgets. I watch scifi, action and horror films, I like to read graphic novels (the more graphic the better) and I have no affinity for babies. This general hard-wiring applies to my decorating choices, too. My furniture is plain, with dark woods and solid colors. My rugs and curtains are solids in dark colors. I have large flatscreen TV’s in two rooms and computers in three. I don’t really care about peeling ceilings or scuffs in paint. My condo has flooring of very old wide pine boards. Irregular, with gaps between the boards and there was not a lot of living space wasted on closets. The decorations were plain, but interesting like antique mechanical devices or photos I took on trips of architecturally-interesting buildings and structures. Any surprise that guys liked my place. It was comfortable, unfrilly, filled with male-friendly objects and colors. But, throughout human history and with plenty of examples from nature for support, woman seems to have the final say on the choice of a dwelling, whether it be a house or a nest. And they don’t like mine.

I lived in a nice little man-cave and still do. Although this house is more airy and light than my condo, I kept all my old furnishings, window coverings and decorations. The living room is actually very much like a cave in it’s structure and I quite like it. Nice big TV, all my media electronics clustered together in a cozy space… it works well for me. It is not a space a typical female would design or desire, though. And I don’t care. It doesn’t bother me that I don’t wear pink and don’t own a dress. I enjoy my pursuits and activities. When Halloween rolls around again, I’ll happily dress in my usual costume, best described as an androgynous vampire with black eyes (great contact lenses) and custom-fitted fangs. It’s me. And folks are used to me being me. I just wish, for the sake of selling my condo, there were more gals out there like me…

