I can cook. I really can. And, despite being a lifelong vegetarian, I can even cook meat, poultry and seafood. There was time I liked to cook and that time spiraled into a wormhole long ago. I so don’t cook anymore that when I got the floor replaced in my condo and had to have the gas oven disconnected, I never got it reconnected. We’re going on 3 years now. So, if it ain’t raw or can’t be done in the microwave, it’s not going going to happen. Here’s an example – this is what I just put together for supper tonight:

  • 1 can pink beans
  • 1 small can green beans
  • 1/2 can baby corn
  • 1 large roasted red pepper, shredded
  • Few big forkfuls of sliced black olives
  • Healthy splashes of white wine vinegar and soy sauce (well, Bragg’s Liquid Amino’s… much less sodium)
  • Pinches, dashes and shakes of salt, black pepper, crushed red pepper, Italian seasoning, dried minced garlic and onion

Rinse all the canned stuff well and toss it all with seasonings. Separate into plastic containers and put in fridge. Eat when you get hungry.

Oh, and I forgot my crock pot, aka The SoupMaker. Lots of Sunday mornings find me putting veggies in the crock pot and making a big pot of soup. I can get 4 servings out of it, so that’s 4 dinners. When the stomach grumbles I get some protein ready (beans, tofu, rehydrated TVP) and add it to the soup. With a basic veggie soup, it’s easy to put a spin on it at the last minute, also. A few herbs, spices or condiments here and there and I can go Mexican, Thai, Chinese, Italian… Every geek should have a crock pot. They’re terribly retro, so you can pretend to be a hipster when you’re using one…

