It always takes me a long time to settle into summer vacation. I spend a couple of weeks feeling very anxious and unable to relax into vacation mode. It’s been worse this year, due to all the stresses in my life, and I can unproudly admit to spending the last few days cloistered in my house, reading salacious stories on the Internet. It has, at least, kept me from being dragged under by the blues, which is all too easy to happen…

July 4th was a nonevent. Didn’t leave the house except for a quick grocery trip. The highlight was an hour-long storm with pounding rain, whipping wind and good-sized hail (kumquat-sized). I was worried that another was brewing last night, but the hail, at least, didn’t make an appearance. Made arrangements for my new house to get painted and now have to find a way to pay for it. Until my condo sells, I am basically running in the heavy red with little savings to prop things up. Riding the ragged edge of disaster – maybe that will be my tattoo. Nah… I’m still sold on cybernetic circuity running down half my body. Maybe that will be my 50th birthday present to myself.

Took the dogs walking yesterday and passed a truck that had this bumper sticker – Remember to spay and neuter your Liberals. Of course, I took offense since I fall on the Liberal side of the political line, but had to pack it away when I paused a moment in front of the house where the truck was parked. All you could hear was children yelling and screaming and what had to be Mom yelling and screaming at them. Yeah… my health-insurance dollars will probably be funding their drug rehab in about 10 years. Make a letter L with your fingers and place said hand over forehead…

Gotta conduct a job interview tomorrow and that is a hoot and a half. Principal grabbed me just before the end of school and read me in on his super-secret plan for filling the 0.4 position (2 classes out of the normal 5) we have open in my department. It’s a former administrator who they let go two years ago because they wanted to restructure the administrative construct. Could be ok, could be a novel-worthy disaster. I’ll know by noon…

I’m having hiccups… I wonder if rum will help with hiccups…

